Explore Guyana

Guyana, officially known as the Co-operative Republic of Guyana is a sovereign country in South America. Guyana shares its borders with the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Brazil to the south and southwest, Suriname to the east and Venezuela to the west. Guyana is the only English speaking country in South America and is spread over an area of 83,000 square miles.

Guyana is included in the Caribbean Region for having its cultural, historical and political ties with the Caribbean Community (CARICOM). The headquarters of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is located in the capital of Guyana, Georgetown. The official language of Guyana is English which they use for education, government, media, and services. The main sources of economy in Guyana are agriculture (production of rice and Demerara sugar), bauxite mining, gold mining, timber, shrimp fishing and minerals.

The present population of Guyana is racially and ethnically heterogeneous, with ethnic groups originating from India, Africa, Europe, and China, as well as indigenous or aboriginal people. Despite of having the diverse backgrounds and languages, the people of Guyana share two common languages: English and Creole. Most of the Indo-Guyanese are the people of the Bhojpuri-speaking Bihar and Uttar Pradesh migrants. And many of them are also descended Tamil speaking Tamils from Tamil Nadu, and Telugus of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh in South India.

The people of Guyana are very friendly and helping. International tourists and students find it very easy to adapt in the culture of Guyana. The climatic conditions and environment becomes one of the major attractions for international students.